The Nicholas Danby Trust
20 Fentiman Road, London SW8 1LF.
22 June 2022
The Nicholas Danby Scholarship 2021 was awarded to Ophelia Amar... [read more]

10 July 2021
The Nicholas Danby Scholarship 2021 was awarded to Ophelia Amar... [read more]

Catherine Ennis
It is with great sadness that the Nicholas Danby Trust has learnt of the death of one of its founding trustees, Catherine Ennis, on Christmas Eve. Catherine was a pupil of Nicholas Danby, while organ scholar at St Hugh's College, Oxford, in the 1970s. In a brilliant career as performer, teacher and missionary of extraordinary energy for the organ, its repertoire and its players, Catherine held posts at Christ Church Cathedral, Oxford, St Marylebone Parish Church and, since 1985, as director of music at St Lawrence Jewry next Guildhall. She was President of the Royal College of Organists 2013–15. The Nicholas Danby Trust benefitted hugely from her charismatic sympathy and understanding of the aspirations and needs of young players, and the inspirational support she gave them. Her loss will be keenly felt, and the Trust offers its heartfelt condolences to her husband, her family, to all who knew her and were influenced by her gifts and unstinting generosity of spirit.

Photograph: © Clive Barda/ArenaPal

Thursday 23 May 2019
Peter Wright gave a recital at Southwark Cathedral, where he was Director of Music for 30 years, to mark his retirement. The concert was followed by a soirée in the retro-choir in aid of the Trust's work for young organists. Some photographs of the event can be viewed here.

September 2018
The Nicholas Danby Scholarship 2018 was awarded to Jas Hutchinson-Bazely... [read more]

Sunday 1 July 2018
Andrzej Malitowski, the current Nicholas Danby Trust Organ Scholar, gave a recital on the Kuhn organ in the Duke's Hall at the Royal Academy of Music.

July 2017
The Nicholas Danby Scholarship 2017 was awarded to Andrzej Malitowski... [read more]

Wednesday 21 June 2017
Colin Walsh, Organist Laureate of Lincoln Cathedral and a former pupil of Nicholas Danby, played a special concert – as part of Westminster Cathedral's Grand Organ Festival – to celebrate the Trust's 20th Anniversary. The recital was followed by dinner in Cathedral Hall.

Tuesday 3 May 2016
Freddie James, the current Nicholas Danby Organ Scholar, played the opening recital in the prestigious series of John Hill Memorial Concerts at St Lawrence Jewry-Next-Guildhall. His programme consisted of major works by César Franck (Grande Pièce Symphonique) and Max Reger (Phantasie über den Choral "Straf' mich nicht in deinem Zorn"). Supporters of the Danby Trust joined John Hill subscribers and Freddie for sandwiches and wine afterwards.

Sunday 7 June 2015
James O'Donnell, Organist and Master of the Choristers at Westminster Abbey, gave an organ recital in aid of the Trust at Douai Abbey. Afterwards, the trustees, by kind invitation of the Abbot and Community, hosted a reception for Trust supporters in the Abbey Refectory.

The Nicholas Danby Scholarship was awarded to Freddie James. The Bursary went to Max James, for a year's foundation course in Toulouse with Professor Michel Bouvard.

Thursday 10 July 2014
Following Thomas Trotter's recital at St Paul's Cathedral, a reception in aid of the Trust was held at Scandinavian House, by kind invitation of Sir Roger Gifford.

June 2013
The Nicholas Danby Bursary 2013 was awarded to Richard Gowers... [read more]

June 2012
The Nicholas Danby Bursary 2012 was awarded to Domenico Gioffre... [read more]

June 2011
The Nicholas Danby Scholarship 2011 was awarded to Richard Brasier, of London... [read more]

23 June 2011 – Southwark Cathedral
A reception in aid of the Trust was held following a recital by Olivier Latry of Notre-Dame Cathedral, Paris.

30 October 2010 – Bloomsbury Central Baptist Church
In the last of his 2010 series of recitals in aid of the Trust, Christopher Nickol played the Binns organ at this central London venue.

10 September 2010 – York Central Methodist Church
In the second of his recitals in aid of the Trust, Christopher Nickol played music by Buxtehude, Reger, Howells, Franck, Burgeon, and Saint-Saëns.

5 September 2010 – New Kilpatrick Church, Bearsden, Glasgow
Christopher Nickol gave a recital in aid of the Trust. The concert included music by Bach, Franck, Haydn, Jongen, Leighton, and Sweelinck played on the church's two organs.

24 June 2010 – The Temple Church
Stephen Disley gave an organ recital in aid of the Trust and in memory of his friend Paul Smith. Around 80 people attended the concert and buffet reception afterwards.

8 February 2010 – Southwark Cathedral
Former Nicholas Danby organ scholar Christain Wilson gave a lunchtime recital.

August 2009
The first Nicholas Danby Bursary was awarded to Freddie James, of London... [read more]

28 July 2009 – Westminster Abbey
Following a recital by the Abbey's Organist, James O'Donnell, a reception in aid of the Trust took place in the Jerusalem Chamber by kind permission of the Dean of Westminster.

24 September 2008 – Westminster Cathedral
A reception in aid of the Trust was held following a recital given by Professor Jon Laukvik.

25 November 2007 – Westminster Abbey
Nicholas Danby Trust scholar Christian Wilson gave a recital which was followed by a reception in Cheyneygates, by kind permission of the Abbey's Dean and Chapter.

3 November 2007 – King's College Chapel, Cambridge
Christian Wilson, Nicholas Danby Trust scholar, gave a recital of music by Josef Holbrooke and Sigfrid Karg-Elert.

June 2006
The third Nicholas Danby Scholarship was awarded to Christian Wilson... [read more]

22 July 2007 – Douai Abbey
Peter Wright, Organist of Southwark Cathedral, gave a Summer Celebrity Recital in aid of the Nicholas Danby Trust. His prgramme included music by Bach, Frescobaldi, Mendelssohn, Franck, Bairstow, Widor, and Cochereau.

June 2002
The second Nicholas Danby Scholarship was awarded to Petros Bakalakos, of Greece... [read more]

23 August 1999
The Trustees announced that the first Nicholas Danby Scholarship was awarded to Rafal Salamon, of Cracow, Poland... [read more]
TRUSTEES: Stephen Turvey MA ChairmanCherry James MA LLM PhD Secretary & Treasurer
Margaret Danby AGSM FRSAJames O'Donnell KCSG MA FRCOPatrick Russill MA HonRAM HonFRCO
Peter Wright MA FRCOBarry Woodman FRICSMary Danby CalvertClare Caswell BA PGCE