The Nicholas Danby Trust
20 Fentiman Road, London SW8 1LF.
The Nicholas Danby Trust was founded in 1997 after the untimely death of the distinguished international recitalist and leading conservatoire teacher.

At the time of his death, Nicholas Danby was Organ Professor at both the Royal College of Music and the Royal Academy of Music in London, where he was head of Organ Studies from 1989 to 1996. For over thirty years he was Director of Music at the famous London Jesuit Church of the Immaculate Conception, Farm Street, Mayfair.

Throughout his life, Nicholas Danby worked ceaselessly to promote international and cultural exchange. The aim of the Trust is to perpetuate this by establishing in his memory a major European scholarship for organ study.

The Nicholas Danby Scholarship, value £6,000 per annum, is awarded biennially to a postgraduate organ student of exceptional promise, enabling him/her to undertake conservatoire study outside his/her home tradition for up to two years. The scholarship is therefore open to students from music colleges in the UK for study elsewhere in Europe, and to conservatoire students from other European countries who would like the opportunity to study in the UK. The trustees aim to help scholarship holders at the beginning of their careers, through securing recitals in prestigious venues and by offering sound professional advice.

Bursaries, each with a value of up to £3,000 per annum, are available for one year foundation courses or for undergraduate study on a yearly basis (at the trustees' discretion) within a conservatoire in the UK or continental Europe, but in a country other than the student's own. Applicants are considered on recommendation from their conservatoire Heads. They are then interviewed and auditioned by the organists on the board of Trustees, i.e. James O'Donnell, Patrick Russill, and Peter Wright.
TRUSTEES: Stephen Turvey MA ChairmanCherry James MA LLM PhD Secretary & Treasurer
Margaret Danby AGSM FRSAJames O'Donnell KCSG MA FRCOPatrick Russill MA HonRAM HonFRCO
Peter Wright MA FRCOBarry Woodman FRICSMary Danby CalvertClare Caswell BA PGCE